Day 15- Clay Bank Top to Blakey: Bathroom or Mirage?

Day 15- Clay Bank Top to Blakey: Bathroom or Mirage?


Distance & Time- 9 miles & 5 hours

Weather- mixed bag of light rain and sun with continued wind

Trail Conditions-


Notes from the trail-
Today was physically a pretty easy day once we got up the initial hill.  The place we stayed last night drove us to the trail start and, as we arrived, a military jet buzzed right over the hilltops.  Lots of great views, well managed rails-to-trails path to follow for most of the way, saw a few cyclists and grouse, and ate our lunch along the path (only to be surprised by the one and only truck we saw on the path all day).  We were pleasantly surprised to see an actual bathroom along the trail today. It was an all-in-one construction crew break room, bathroom, office pod just in the middle of nowhere.

Favorite part of the day-

L- The moors and walking on the dismantled railway

R- the baby grouse and the valley view with the property outlined in stones

M- today felt pretty easy. It’s not that I don’t want a challenge but I’m content with an easy victory here in the last few days.

Most challenging part of the day-

L- getting out of bed and up the first hill

R- too hearty breakfast before climbing the first hill

M- nothing. All good today!


How we are feeling-

L- tired

R- feeling good

M- not too bad. Feet are a little sore of course, ankle is a bit crabby but all-in-all I’m feeling good.

Mantras-

L- Have faith in your journey. The ups, the downs – every part is helping you to grow, and molding you into someone you can be proud of.

R- Your track record for getting through tough days is 100% so far! You’re stronger than you think.

M- I accept my body and its defects. I accept my character and its weaknesses. I love myself as a perfect part of a perfect whole.

Where we stayed-

The Lion Inn


Where we ate-

The Lion Inn

One thought on “Day 15- Clay Bank Top to Blakey: Bathroom or Mirage?

  1. The moors weren’t anything like I expected. I thought they’d be something out of a Sherlock Holmes old movie with werewolves, etc. But it was the double-eyed grouse, sheep, wind, and endless flat miles. The bottoms of my feet hurt after that walk. I hope everyone is okay.

    Like

Leave a comment