Day 14- Ingleby Cross to Clay Bank Top: Never Celebrate Before You Know You’ve Crossed the Finish Line

Day 14- Ingleby Cross to Clay Bank Top: Never Celebrate Before You Know You’ve Crossed the Finish Line


Distance & Time- 12 miles & 7 hrs

Weather- hurricane, chilly, and rainy

​​

Trail Conditions-

Notes from the trail-  Okay, yes, it rained and the winds were horrendous, and yes, we didn’t actually make it all the way to the official days end BUT look at this stone trail!  I mean, how easy is that to follow?!

Not going to lie, we all kind of got the steam knocked out of us when we arrived at the end just to find out it was not the end and still had over 3 miles of the hardest bits that day to do. We tried figuring out the low route to avoid the Wainstones but in the end, the white flag was waved and a taxi picked us up to go the few miles into town. 


Favorite part of the day-

L- the moors

R- farmland views

M- Cleveland Way path

Most challenging part of the day-

L- dealing with allergies

R- walking in the wind

M- thinking we had made it to Clay Bank Top just to find out we still had two pages of maps left

How we are feeling-

L- good, tired, blisters hurt a bit

R- feeling okay, knee is a little tender

M- ankle and feet are sore but doing okay

Mantras-

L- When things are tough, you must be tougher. Don’t pray for an easy life. Pray for the strength to endure a tough one that leads to success.

R- I walk slowly with honor and grace.

M- Don’t base your success or happiness on other people’s opinions or expectations. Set goals for yourself- some big, some small- and decide for yourself whether or not you’re working to truly achieve them.

Where we stayed-

The Wainstones Hotel


Whre we ate-

The Wainstones Hotel

 

Melissa’s alternate lyrics:

I feel it in my butt cheeks

I feel it in my quads.

The hills are all around us

So we’re gettin’ smokin’ bods.

He wrote it in the wind

It’s everywhere I look

When I get home on Tuesday,

I’m going to burn that book.

4 thoughts on “Day 14- Ingleby Cross to Clay Bank Top: Never Celebrate Before You Know You’ve Crossed the Finish Line

  1. The moors! The moors! You’re so wise to stop at Clay Banks. Love the song! When you get to Grosmont, be sure to get some pear drops from the store. Tasty. Tasty. Sorry, but I laughed out loud at the video of the wind. Yeah, the moors will leave you with stories to remember when you’re sitting in the nursing home. I cussed a lot through the moors. Way to go!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. We are seriously considering taking the steam engine from Pickering to Grosmont instead of walking. We figure, it’s our adventure, why not try new things along the way?! Plus, I am concerned about my mom’s knee. She’s too proud to admit it is really starting to become an issue.
      Looking forward to some pear drops! 🙂

      Like

  2. Have you noticed that your language has changed from “How are we gonna do this?” to “When we get home?” You’re already seeing the light at the end of the trail. (Actually the North Sea will come into view soon.)

    Like

    1. I have definitely noticed a change in how we talk about what’s ahead. Yesterday when it was tough, I kept saying to myself, “Just three more day, three more days.” I am so proud of us for getting this far but I’m ready to get back home to my husband. 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment