Ready or Not Here We Come!

Ready or Not Here We Come!

Melissa:

I have a tendency of getting an idea in my head and not being able to get it out until it is done.

One year and one week ago, I read my first blog about the Coast to Coast.  Less than 4 months later, I booked my trip.  Today I am sitting in the airport having roped my mom and my friend into doing it with me.  The thought of it all seemed so exciting and freeing these last 8 months but at the moment I am a little nervous and feeling unprepared for the unknown ahead of me.  I’m sure that is totally normal…right?  As Nelson Mandela said, “I learned that courage was not the absence of fear, but the triumph over it.  The brave man is not he who does not feel afraid, but he who conquers that fear.”  And really, all I am doing is walking 200 miles across a country of my own free will.  How lucky am I do be able (in all sense of the word) to do that?

It’s my hope that through this blog was might inspire someone else.  I also hope that it provides valuable information for those researching their trip.  For example, I have scoured the internet to find one person that actually wrote what food was in their packed trail lunch– because if it’s cucumber sandwiches, I would not be going.  I vow to you right now that I will tell you what is in those illusive B&B packed lunches and other important things like the weather, my blister situation (or ideally lack thereof), packing lists, navigational challenges and successes, and, of course, lots of pictures.  I’m not 100% sure of our wi-fi situation for each day so some postings may go up as a blank template but we’ll come back in a fill those out as soon as we can.

Wish us luck!

planemap

4 thoughts on “Ready or Not Here We Come!

  1. WhooHoo!!
    I wish I were going with you. I remember how gut scared I was when starting the C2C. I assure you, you’re going to create memories for life, but you already know that.
    Post when you can. I can’t wait to hear about your days.
    It’s such a pivotal hike, we were considering doing it again, but chose to walk the length of Cotswolds this year. I can’t wait to hear about your Yorkshire lunch techniques.
    Warmest blessings and good weather to you.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Another thought…. that isn’t in the guidebook….on the stretch between Pattersdale and Bampton, there’s a hill called Kidsty Pike.
    If it’s foggy and rainy, there’s a way to go around it instead of over it. Ride the ferry the length of the lake, get off and continue hiking from there. (We walked the length of the lake, but if I were doing it again, I’d take the ferry. ) I’m sure your BnB host in Pattersdale can give you more details.
    You’re going to have such a great time getting lost and getting found again. Enjoy! Enjoy!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I’m so glad you took the steamer. You’re hanging in there and taking care of yourselves. The Lake District is the hardest part, and you’re almost to the gentle rolling hills of Yorkshire. It will get better.
        There are discussions about whether to start the C2C in the east so when you reach the tougher Lake District your legs will be stronger, or to travel west to east, so the most difficult part is over first. Obviously, you tackled the most daunting part, and that’s almost behind you.
        I was amazed what a mental as well as physical challenge it was. One of the biggest blessings I came away with was the kindness of strangers, and vowed to be more patient and courteous to others on life treks.
        That’s the life-changing part of doing this. It isn’t about walking every step, but facing the journey and doing what you can.
        Many days in my journal I noted that I was disappointed in myself, or “in a witchy twist” by the time we reached our B&B.
        And then, somehow, somewhere along the way I became kinder to myself. I stopped trying to keep up with other hikers doing the C2C. Stopped beating myself up because I was slower and it took longer than I expected.
        It just “is what it is” and if I needed to take a shortcut that day, by gum, I took it.
        Just the fact that you’re there, attempting something most folks wouldn’t even consider, is a huge accomplishment.
        A hug to each of you.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment